The art of saying thank you


Thank you is a simple enough phrase to say, yet it seems like people of all ages and walks of life have a difficult time saying it. 

I have noticed this trend over the years and it’s mind boggling to me how easy it is for people to NOT show gratitude. When I was growing up my parents told me to always say thank you when someone gives something to you or does something for you. I’m also instilling this into my now 3 year old nephew.

I can’t even begin to describe how much it irks me when you hold the door for someone and they walk through without saying a word. It also irks me when you hand something to someone and they just walk on about their business. I will admit to sarcastically saying “you’re welcome” if someone doesn’t show proper courtesy. I can’t help myself. 


It feels like we are in a season of entitlement now. Spend a few hours in the general public and you’ll know exactly what I mean. Honestly, it’s not that hard to show a bit of gratitude. I just don’t understand why people won’t do it. Maybe I’m expecting too much.

Remember it doesn’t take a ton of energy to say thank you! It not only makes others feel appreciated, it makes you feel good and it’s COMMON COURTESY! 

Courtesy: excellence of manners or social conduct; polite behavior.

2. a courteous, respectful, or considerate act or expression.

Dictionary.com 

I know that in this day and age we are much busier, usually in a rush and our attention is scattered more than ever. Please don’t let that get in the way of using manners and being courteous. It truly just takes a second to say thank you! 

Leave a Reply

